Infinity in Cedar and Graphite

My first attempt, following the master, David Rees.

Though a mere pencil, the Palomino Blackwing has a long and strong history. Its predecessor, the Eberhard Faber Blackwing 602, had its virtues praised by artists and writers alike through the decades. The Paris Review quoted John Steinbeck:

“I have found a new kind of pencil—the best I have ever had. Of course it costs three times as much too but it is black and soft but doesn’t break off. I think I will always use these. They are called Blackwings and they really glide over the paper.”


– from Pencils dot com’s Blackwing page.


Ink will fade over time, but unless you erase it, pencil marks will last as long as the material upon which it was placed.

2 thoughts on “Infinity in Cedar and Graphite

    • I do most of my B&W conversions with Silver Efex Pro 2 and that was the case for this one, too. Thanks for the kind words! I’ll pop over to your place and have a look around!

Leave a Reply

