Faux Film, 2012

I’m trying out a trial version of Nikon’s Silver Efex Pro 2, a plug-in for Aperture and Photoshop that creates black and white conversions of your files.

It has a fairly decent set of fake film stock looks, including HP-5 and Tri-X (the mainstays of my work up until XP-1 and then digital) and they look pretty decent.

I’m not sure if I’ll keep it after the trial is up, because it is expensive and I do know how to use the Channel Mixer, after all. But I just might keep it if it keeps turning out such nice tones.

Leave a Reply

