NGD & NAD (sort of.)

My 1986 MIJ Thinline Telecaster, with a new, FAT Musikcraft neck and my Electrosonic Thermosonic amp. They’re a great combination, IMO.

The tone control on this amp is really different- instead of being a treble roll-off or wah-like filter, it seems to work on mostly the midrange, so you can have fat and honky (in good and sorta vocal way) at one end and a scooped-mids with round bass, sort of like a mix of Blackface Fender, but with some Vox-like chime. The cabinet is a real winner, too. It’s very resonant, like an old tweed, so I don’t even remotely miss having reverb on it.

The new neck on my Tele is nice and fat and wide at the nut, which pretty much matches the neck on my Kelly Bowery Pine Tele. Musikcraft did a great job on it, as did Dustin over at Dietze Music, who did the final finish and setup.

A big win, all the way around.

One thought on “NGD & NAD (sort of.)

  1. I have a 77 Precision that Id like to slap a different neck. Hide quoted text Show quoted text -I have a 77 Precision that Id like to slap a different neck. If Im swapping in a new neck I thought I may as well get one my hands like.

Leave a Reply

